UCLA » College » Social Sciences » History

Professors

  • Perry Anderson

    PROFESSOR

    Subfield: Europe

    Contact Information

    Email    
    Office  9349 Bunche Hall
    Phone  310-825-8700
  • Andrew Apter

    PROFESSOR

    Subfield: African, World

    Contact Information

    Email    aapter@history.ucla.edu
    Office  5369 Bunche Hall
    Phone  310-794-9547
  • Stephen Aron

    Professor & Robert N. Burr Department Chair

    Subfield: United States

    Contact Information

    Email    SARON@HISTORY.UCLA.EDU
    Office  6265B Bunche Hall
    Phone  310-825-1883
  • Sebouh Aslanian

    Associate Professor & Richard Hovannisian Endowed Chair in Modern Armenian History

    Subfield: Early modern world and Armenian history, Middle Eastern Studies

    Contact Information

    Email    saslanian@history.ucla.edu
    Office  7383 Bunche Hall
    Phone  310-825-4261
  • Eric Avila

    PROFESSOR

    Subfield: 20C––U.S.urban, cultural, race and ethnicity

    Contact Information

    Email    EAVILA@UCLA.EDU
    Office  7375 Bunche Hall
    Phone  310-825-9106
  • Peter Baldwin

    PROFESSOR

    Subfield: Europe

    Contact Information

    Email    PBALDWIN@UCLA.EDU
    Office  7240 Bunche Hall
    Phone  310-396-0108
  • Stephen Bell

    ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR

    Subfield: Brazil, Latin America, Historical Geography, Environmental History

    Contact Information

    Email    SBELL@GEOG.UCLA.EDU
    Office  1255 Bunche Hall
    Phone 
  • Ra‘anan Boustan

    ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR

    Subfield: Ancient and Jewish History

    Contact Information

    Email    boustan@history.ucla.edu
    Office  5375 Bunche Hall
    Phone  310-825-1977
  • Joel Braslow

    PROFESSOR IN RESIDENCE

    Subfield: Science

    Contact Information

    Email    JBRASLOW@UCLA.EDU
    Office  Suite 300 UCLA Wilshire Center
    Phone  310-794-2930
  • Scot Brown

    ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR

    Subfield: United States

    Contact Information

    Email    SBROWN@HISTORY.UCLA.EDU
    Office  6351 Bunche Hall
    Phone  310-267-5460
  • Brian Copenhaver

    PROFESSOR

    Contact Information

    Email    brianc@humnet.ucla.edu
    Office  302 Royce Hall, Box 951485
    Phone 
  • Soraya de Chadarevian

    PROFESSOR

    Subfield: Science

    Contact Information

    Email    chadarevian@history.ucla.edu
    Office  5272 Bunche Hall
    Phone  310-825-3888
  • Robin Derby

    ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR

    Subfield: Modern Latin America & the Caribbean

    Contact Information

    Email    DERBY@HISTORY.UCLA.EDU
    Office  7238 Bunche Hall
    Phone  310-267-5461
  • Ellen Dubois

    PROFESSOR

    Subfield: United States; Gender, Sexuality and Women; U.S. Transnational History

    Contact Information

    Email    EDUBOIS@UCLA.EDU
    Office  6244 Bunche Hall
    Phone  310-825-1846
  • John Duncan

    PROFESSOR

    Contact Information

    Email    DUNCAN@HUMNET.UCLA.EDU
    Office  Asian Languages & Cultures, Box 951540
    Phone  310-794-8931
  • Caroline Ford

    PROFESSOR

    Subfield: Europe

    Contact Information

    Email    CFORD@HISTORY.UCLA.EDU
    Office  5254 Bunche Hall
    Phone  310-206-9607
  • Stephen Frank

    ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR

    Subfield: Russia, Europe, early modern-20th century

    Contact Information

    Email    FRANK@HISTORY.UCLA.EDU
    Office  5345 Bunche Hall
    Phone  310-825-1921
  • James Gelvin

    PROFESSOR

    Subfield: Middle East

    Contact Information

    Email    GELVIN@HISTORY.UCLA.EDU
    Office  7377 Bunche Hall
    Phone  310-206-4854
  • J. Arch Getty

    PROFESSOR

    Subfield: Europe, World

    Contact Information

    Email    GETTY@UCLA.EDU
    Office  5349 Bunche Hall
    Phone  310-825-1762
  • Jessica Goldberg

    ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR

    Subfield: Medieval, Jewish

    Contact Information

    Email    goldberg@history.ucla.edu
    Office  6254 Bunche Hall
    Phone  310-267-5942
  • Andrea Goldman

    Associate Professor & Vice Chair for Undergraduate Affairs

    Subfield: China

    Contact Information

    Email    goldman@history.ucla.edu
    Office  5355 Bunche Hall
    Phone  310-825-3368
  • Juan Gómez-Quiñones

    PROFESSOR

    Subfield: United States

    Contact Information

    Email    QUINONES@HISTORY.UCLA.EDU
    Office  6297 Bunche Hall
    Phone  310-825-4362
  • Nile Green

    PROFESSOR

    Subfield: World; South Asia; Islamic

    Contact Information

    Email    green@history.ucla.edu
    Office  7256 Bunche Hall
    Phone  310-825-9498
  • Toby Higbie

    ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR

    Subfield: United States social history, labor and working class history, digital humanities and public history.

    Contact Information

    Email    higbie@history.ucla.edu
    Office  5242 Bunche Hall
    Phone  310-794-9331
  • Katsuya Hirano

    ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR

    Subfield: Early modern and modern Japan, Colonialism, Critical Theory, Marxian Theory of History.

    Contact Information

    Email    hirano@history.ucla.edu
    Office  5238 Bunche Hall
    Phone  310-825-1235
  • Peter Hudson

    ASSISTANT PROFESSOR

    Contact Information

    Email    PJHUDSON@UCLA.EDU
    Office  5351 Bunche Hall
    Phone  310-825-2347
  • Margaret Jacob

    Professor

    Contact Information

    Email    mjacob@history.ucla.edu
    Office  6260 Bunche Hall
    Phone  310-794-4432
  • Russell Jacoby

    PROFESSOR IN RESIDENCE

    Subfield: Europe

    Contact Information

    Email    RJACOBY@HISTORY.UCLA.EDU
    Office  5290 Bunche Hall
    Phone  310-206-2625
  • Robin Kelley

    Professor and Gary B. Nash Endowed Chair in U.S. History

    Subfield: United States, African-American and African Diaspora

    Contact Information

    Email    rdkelley@history.ucla.edu
    Office  5383 Bunche Hall
    Phone  310-825-3469
  • Vinay Lal

    PROFESSOR

    Subfield: South and Southeast Asia

    Contact Information

    Email    VLAL@HISTORY.UCLA.EDU
    Office  5240 Bunche Hall
    Phone  310-825-8276
  • Ghislaine Lydon

    ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR

    Subfield: Western African History

    Contact Information

    Email    lydon@history.ucla.edu
    Office  7248 Bunche Hall
    Phone  310-825-4214
  • Kelly Lytle Hernandez

    ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR

    Subfield: United States

    Contact Information

    Email    HERNANDEZ@HISTORY.UCLA.EDU
    Office  6238 Bunche Hall
    Phone  310-825-3884
  • Benjamin Madley

    ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR

    Subfield: Native American, American West, United States, and Genocide in World History

    Contact Information

    Email    madley@ucla.edu
    Office  5371 Bunche Hall
    Phone  310-825-1278
  • William Marotti

    ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR

    Subfield: Japan

    Contact Information

    Email    marotti@history.ucla.edu
    Office  5365 Bunche Hall
    Phone  310-825-4368
  • Valerie Matsumoto

    PROFESSOR

    Subfield: United States

    Contact Information

    Email    MATSUMOT@HISTORY.UCLA.EDU
    Office  5377 Bunche Hall
    Phone  310-825-4508
  • Muriel C. McClendon

    Associate Professor & Vice Chair for Graduate Affairs

    Subfield: Europe

    Contact Information

    Email    MCCLENDO@HISTORY.UCLA.EDU
    Office  5341 Bunche Hall
    Phone  310-825-3918
  • Michael Meranze

    PROFESSOR

    Subfield: United States, U.S. Intellectual and Legal History, emphasis on early America

    Contact Information

    Email    meranze@history.ucla.edu
    Office  6240 Bunche Hall
    Phone  310-825-2671
  • Michael Morony

    PROFESSOR

    Subfield: Near East

    Contact Information

    Email    MORONY@HISTORY.UCLA.EDU
    Office  6242 Bunche Hall
    Phone  310-825-1962
  • David Myers

    Professor & Sady and Ludwig Kahn Chair in Jewish History

    Subfield: Jewish, Europe, Modern Jewish intellectual and cultural history

    Contact Information

    Email    MYERS@HISTORY.UCLA.EDU
    Office  5387 Bunche Hall
    Phone  310-825-3780
  • Minayo Nasiali

    Assistant Professor

    Contact Information

    Email    
    Office 
    Phone 
  • Kathryn Norberg

    ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR

    Subfield: Europe, Women

    Contact Information

    Email    KNORBERG@UCLA.EDU
    Office  5248 Bunche Hall
    Phone  310-825-7317
  • Anthony Pagden

    PROFESSOR

    Subfield: Europe, Prolonged contact of Europe with the non-European world

    Contact Information

    Email    PAGDEN@POLISCI.UCLA.EDU
    Office  4289 Bunche Hall
    Phone  310-825-9984
  • Fernando Pérez Montesinos

    Assistant Professor

    Contact Information

    Email    
    Office 
    Phone 
  • Carla Pestana

    Professor and Joyce Appleby Endowed Chair of America in the World

    Subfield: United States (early period to 1800), Atlantic World, Caribbean

    Contact Information

    Email    cgpestana@history.ucla.edu
    Office  5391 Bunche Hall
    Phone  310-206-5221
  • David Phillips

    PROFESSOR

    Subfield: Ancient Greece

    Contact Information

    Email    PHILLIPS@HISTORY.UCLA.EDU
    Office  5246 Bunche Hall
    Phone  310-825-4715
  • Gabriel Piterberg

    PROFESSOR

    Subfield: Near East

    Contact Information

    Email    GABIP@HISTORY.UCLA.EDU
    Office  5339 Bunche Hall
    Phone  310-825-3944
  • Theodore Porter

    Distinguished Professor of History & Peter Reill Chair in European History (1450 to Modern)

    Subfield: Science, Europe

    Contact Information

    Email    TPORTER@HISTORY.UCLA.EDU
    Office  5256 Bunche Hall
    Phone  310-206-2352
  • Janice Reiff

    Professor & Waldo M. Neikirk Endowed Term Chair

    Subfield: United States, Digital Humanities, Urban History, Social History, 20th Century, Historical Methods

    Contact Information

    Email    JREIFF@UCLA.EDU
    Office  9252 Bunche Hall
    Phone  310-825-5029
  • Geoffrey Robinson

    PROFESSOR

    Subfield: South and Southeast Asia

    Contact Information

    Email    ROBINSON@HISTORY.UCLA.EDU
    Office  5361 Bunche Hall
    Phone  310-825-3563
  • Teofilo Ruiz

    PROFESSOR

    Subfield: Medieval, Early Modern Europe

    Contact Information

    Email    TFRUIZ@HISTORY.UCLA.EDU
    Office  6258 Bunche Hall
    Phone  310-825-3194
  • David Sabean

    Distinguished Professor of History & Henry J. Bruman Endowed Chair in German History

    Subfield: Europe

    Contact Information

    Email    DSABEAN@HISTORY.UCLA.EDU
    Office  5337 Bunche Hall
    Phone  310-825-3173
  • Michael Salman

    ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR

    Subfield: South and Southeast Asia, United States

    Contact Information

    Email    SALMAN@HISTORY.UCLA.EDU
    Office  9339 Bunche Hall
    Phone  310-825-0893
  • Debora Silverman

    Professor & University of California Presidential Chair in Modern European History, Art and Culture at UCLA

    Subfield: Europe

    Contact Information

    Email    SILVERMA@HISTORY.UCLA.EDU
    Office  9337 Bunche Hall
    Phone  310-825-5066
  • Peter Stacey

    ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR

    Subfield: Europe, Renaissance Italy

    Contact Information

    Email    pstacey@history.ucla.edu
    Office  5373 Bunche Hall
    Phone  310-825-1567
  • Sarah Abrevaya Stein

    Professor & Maurice Amado Endowed Chair in Sephardic Studies

    Subfield: Jewish, Sephardic Studies

    Contact Information

    Email    sstein@history.ucla.edu
    Office  6296 Bunche Hall
    Phone  310-825-4153
  • Brenda Stevenson

    PROFESSOR

    Subfield: United States, African American, Southern, U.S. Women and Family

    Contact Information

    Email    STEVENSO@HISTORY.UCLA.EDU
    Office  6274 Bunche Hall
    Phone  310-825-9420
  • Sanjay Subrahmanyam

    Distinguished Professor & Irving and Jean Stone Endowed Chair in Social Sciences

    Subfield: South and Southeast Asia, Europe, World

    Contact Information

    Email    SUBRAHMA@HISTORY.UCLA.EDU
    Office  9347 Bunche Hall
    Phone  310-825-3376
  • William Summerhill

    PROFESSOR

    Subfield: Brazil, Latin America, Economic History, Atlantic History

    Contact Information

    Email    wrs[at]history.ucla.edu
    Office  9256 Bunche Hall
    Phone  310-206-7600
  • Kevin Terraciano

    PROFESSOR

    Subfield: Latin America

    Contact Information

    Email    TERRA@HISTORY.UCLA.EDU
    Office  5353 Bunche Hall
    Phone  310-825-8410
  • Mary Terrall

    PROFESSOR

    Subfield: History of Science, Europe

    Contact Information

    Email    TERRALL@HISTORY.UCLA.EDU
    Office  5276 Bunche Hall
    Phone  310-825-2013
  • Stefania Tutino

    PROFESSOR

    Subfield: Early Modern Europe

    Contact Information

    Email    tutino@history.ucla.edu
    Office  7389 Bunche Hall
    Phone  310-825-8909
  • Albion Urdank

    ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR

    Subfield: Europe/Britain

    Contact Information

    Email    AURDANK@HISTORY.UCLA.EDU
    Office  5284 Bunche Hall
    Phone  310-825-8888
  • Richard Von Glahn

    PROFESSOR

    Subfield: China, World

    Contact Information

    Email    VONGLAHN@HISTORY.UCLA.EDU
    Office  9278 Bunche Hall
    Phone  310-825-3087
  • Scott Waugh

    Executive Vice Chancellor & Provost, Professor

    Subfield: England, Medieval History

    Contact Information

    Email    SCOTTW@COLLEGE.UCLA.EDU
    Office  2147 Murphy Hall
    Phone  310-825-2052
  • Joan Waugh

    Professor & Vice Chair for Academic Personnel

    Subfield: United States

    Contact Information

    Email    JWAUGH@HISTORY.UCLA.EDU
    Office  9351 Bunche Hall
    Phone  310-825-1865
  • R. Bin Wong

    PROFESSOR

    Subfield: China

    Contact Information

    Email    WONG@HISTORY.UCLA.EDU
    Office  7262 Bunche Hall
    Phone  310-267-5462
  • William Worger

    PROFESSOR

    Subfield: African

    Contact Information

    Email    WORGER@HISTORY.UCLA.EDU
    Office  7242 Bunche Hall
    Phone  805-709-1215
  • Mary Yeager

    PROFESSOR

    Subfield: United States

    Contact Information

    Email    YEAGER@UCLA.EDU
    Office  7381 Bunche Hall
    Phone  310-825-3489
  • Craig Yirush

    ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR

    Subfield: United States

    Contact Information

    Email    YIRUSH@HISTORY.UCLA.EDU
    Office  5270 Bunche Hall
    Phone  310-825-3078

Adjunct Professors

  • Amir Alexander

    ASSOCIATE ADJUNCT PROFESSOR

    Subfield: History of Science, History of Mathematics

    Contact Information

    Email    AMIRALEX@UCLA.EDU
    Office  6265 Bunche Hall
    Phone 
  • Mary Corey

    CONTINUING LECTURER

    Subfield: United States

    Contact Information

    Email    MCOREY@UCLA.EDU
    Office  9345 Bunche Hall
    Phone  310-825-2416
  • John Langdon

    CONTINUING LECTURER

    Subfield: Ancient

    Contact Information

    Email    JLANGDON@UCLA.EDU
    Office  7280 Bunche Hall
    Phone  310-825-4388

Professors Emeritus