Log in

Recent Faculty Awards & Achievements

Congratulations to Debora Silverman who has been awarded the 2015-2016 Fellowship at the Dorothy and Lewis B. Cullman Center for Scholars and Writers in the New York Public Library. Silverman also received (and declined) fellowships for 2015-2016 from the National Humanities Center and the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study at Harvard University.

Congratulations to Peter Loewenberg who has been conferred the "Champion for Psychoanalysis Worldwide" Award by the New Center for Psychoanalysis.

Congratulations to Kelly Lytle Hernandez who has won the Louis Knott Koontz Memorial Award.

Congratulations to Sarah Stein and Brenda Stevenson who have been awarded Guggenheim Fellowships for 2015.

Congratulations to Carla Pestana, who has been awarded the Robert C. Ritchie Distinguished Fellowship from the Huntington Library.

Congratulations to Brenda Stevenson who has been awarded The Berlin Prize, American Academy in Berlin; the National Humanities Center; and the Stanford Center for Advanced Studies and Behavioral Sciences.

Congratulations to Robin Derby, who has been elected to the Executive Council of the Latin American Studies Association for a two-year term.

Congratulations to Ben Madley, on publishing an article in the latest American Historical Review.

Congratulations to Richard Hovannisian, who was elected as a member of the Accademia Ambrosiana Milano.

Congratulations to Robin Derby, who was inducted to the Academy of History of the Dominican Republic as a foreign corresponding member.

Congratulations to Brenda E. Stevenson, who was awarded the 2014 James A. Rawley Prize from the Organization of American Historians.  More info...

Congratulations to Robin Kelley, who was awarded a Guggenheim Fellowship for 2014-2015.

Congratulations to Saul Friedlander, who was awarded 2014 Dan David Prize in the field "History and Memory".

Congratulations to Andrea Goldman, who was awarded the Joseph Levenson Pre-1900 Book Prize for 2014 by the China and Inner Asia Council of the Association of Asian Studies for her book Opera and the City: The Politics of Culture in Beijing 1770-1900 (Stanford University Press).

Congratulations to Peter Loewenberg, who was unanimously elected an Honorary Member of the Deutschen Psychoanalytischen Vereinigung (German Psychoanalytic Association) in recognition of his scientific and clinical contributions to national and international psychoanalysis.

Congratulations to Sarah Stein, who was elected as one of the new editors of Stanford Studies in Jewish History and Culture at Stanford University Press.

Professor Margaret Jacob and Teofilo Ruiz have been elected to the class of 2013 of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Professor Mary Yeager was elected President of the Business History Association of the United States, roughly 400 members strong.  She will be responsible for the Program at the 2015 Meeting of the Business History Conference in Miami. This is a joint event with European Business History Association, also 400 members strong, whose President is Ray Stokes of Glasgow, Scotland. Congratulations, Mary!

Congratulations to Richard Von Glahn, who was awarded a Guggenheim Fellowship for the 2013-2014 academic year.

Congratulations to Nile Green, who was awarded the Ananda K. Coomaraswamy Book Prize from the Association for Asian Studies for his work Bombay Islam: The Religious Economy of the West Indian Ocean, 1840-1915.

Congratulations to Lynn Hunt, who was awarded the Distinguished Teaching Award by the UCLA Academic Senate.

Congratulations to Ivan Berend, who was named an Honorary Member of the Association des Amis de la Fondation Maison des Scences de Homme

Congratulations to Sanjay Subrahmanyam, who was awarded the 2012 Infosys Science Foundation Prize in the Humanities.

Congratulations to Sarah Stein, who has won the Walker D. Love Article Prize Committee of the North American Conference on British Studies for her article, “Protected Persons? The Baghdadi Jewish Diaspora, the British State, and the Persistence of Empire.”

Congratulations to Carla Pestana, who has been selected as the inaugural Joyce Appleby Endowed Chair of America in the World.

Congratulations to Teo Ruiz, who has been named the first incumbent of the Peter Reil Term Chair in European History.

Congratulations to Kevin Terraciano, who has been selected to be this year's winner of the UCLA Gold Shield Faculty Prize.

Congratulations to Jan Reiff, who has been elected to serve in 2012/13 as Vice Chair/Chair Elect of the Academic Senate.  Jan will serve in the important position of Chair of the Academic Senate in 2013/14.

Congratulations to Scot Brown, who is the recipient of the UCLA Academic Achievement Program Faculty Recognition Award.

Congratulations to Joan Waugh, who has been named the Stephen and Janet Rogers Distinguished Fellow in 19th Century American History at the Huntington Library in 2013-2014.

Congratulations to Sarah Stein, who has been elected a Fellow of the American Academy for Jewish Research.

Congratulations to Richard Hovannisian, who garnered two prestigious awards; the President's Medal of Distinction by Cal State Fresno on March 11, 2012, and on the same day, the City of Fresno declared "Richard Hovannisian Day."  Meanwhile, Professor Hovannisian was also awarded the Friedrich Nansen Gold Medal by the Institute of Genocide Studies in Yerevan, Armenia.

Congratulations to Teo Ruiz, who was awarded the National Humanities Medal at the White House by President Obama on February 13, 2012.

White House press release

Daily Bruin Article