Log in

History Student Highlights


On May 24, 2012 at the UCLA Faculty Center, Vincent Anderson was recognized at the UCLA Rose Gilbert Honors Programs Spring Tea reception for receiving the Andrea Rich Honors Scholarship as well as the Irving and Jean Stone Research Award. The Andrea Rich Scholarship is awarded to exceptional undergraduate History majors enrolled in the College of Letters and Science Honor Program. Irving and Jean Stone Research Award provides funding for students completing a departmental honor thesis or research project.

Vince is a Junior at UCLA, Majoring in History with a Minor in Public Affairs. His Honors Thesis is titled “Firefighters, Insurance Companies, and Underwriters: The Historical Implications of Rating Fire Departments. This project is researching the relationship between the Fire Service and various methodologies used by private industry to evaluate Fire Protection Services. Professor Mary Yeager is mentoring Vince for this research project.

After graduating with a Bachelor’s degree in History next Spring, Vince intends to enroll in the Emergency Management Master’s Program at Long Beach State University. Graduating from Law school is another academic goal. Vocationally, he plans to progress up the ranks of a municipal fire department to the administrative level. For the second half of his career, Vince envisions himself working as counsel within the FEMA Legal Services Division.

Three history undergraduate majors won the 2012 Library Prize Awards for Undergraduate Research.  They are:

  • Sohaib Baig, Senior, for paper topic:  "Traditional Islamic Learning in Colonial India: The Madrasa through the Eyes of a Twentieth-century Islamic Reformer".  Sohaib is enrolled in History 198 A-C: History Honors Senior Thesis with Professor Nile Green.
  • Ethan Scapellati, Senior, for paper topic:  "Unity at Last:  Protestantism and Politics in the Civil War and Postbellum Period".  Ethan is enrolled in History 198 A-C with Professor Joan Waugh.
  • Stephanie Dyar, Senior, for paper topic:  “The 1933 Dressmakers Strike: An Early Twentieth Century Example of Female Immigrant Unionism”.  Stephanie is enrolled in History 198C with Professor Tobias Higbie. She was also recognized for the Best Research using Library resources related to Los Angeles.

Zoe Rose BuonaiutoOn Saturday April 14 at the Phi Alpha Theta Southern California Conference, undergraduate student Zoë Rose Buonaiuto was awarded 1st prize for her presentation on Simone de Beauvoir, the subject of her undergraduate Honors thesis. Her talk explained philosophical underpinnings of Beauvoir's little-known 1946 essay "Oeil pour Oeil," or "An Eye for an Eye" in which Beauvoir weighed the problems of capital punishment for war criminals and collaborators, ultimately concluding that their executions were justified. The essay, Zoë argues, is an early example of Beauvoir dealing with issues of ambiguity and recognition of consciousness, making the essay an important milestone in her conception of an existentialist ethics.

Zoë will now compete in the national Phi Alpha Theta competition for Best Undergraduate paper. Professor Lynn Hunt advised her project.


Two UCLA History Department Ph.D. graduates have been selected for awards from the American Historical Association to be handed out at the association’s 129th Annual Meeting on January 2, 2015 in New York City. Jacob S. Dorman (2004), an assistant professor in the History and American Studies departments at the University of Kansas, is the winner of the 2014 Wesley-Logan Prize in African diaspora history for his book, Chosen People: The Rise of American Black Israelite Religions (Oxford University Press, 2013). Ernesto Chavez (1994), an associate professor of history at the University of Texas, El Paso, is honored with the Individual Equity Award, for his work in achieving “excellence in recruiting and retaining underrepresented racial and ethnic groups into the history profession.”

As described on the AHA website, the Wesley-Logan Prize in African diaspora history is jointly sponsored by the American Historical Association and the Association for the Study of African American Life & History. The prize is awarded annually for an outstanding book in African diaspora history. The AHA Committee on Minority Historians established the prize in 1992 in memory of two early pioneers in the field, Charles H. Wesley and Rayford W. Logan. The prize is offered for a book on some aspect of the history of the dispersion, settlement and adjustment, and/or return of peoples originally from Africa. Only books of high scholarly and literary merit will be considered.

The AHA Committee of Minority Historians seeks to bestow the Equity Award upon individuals or institutions who have demonstrated an exceptional record in the recruitment and retention of students and new faculty from racial and ethnic groups under-represented within the historical professions. Deserving nominees will have records that include such achievements as mentoring, program building, fundraising initiatives, pursuing civic engagement, and enhancing department and campus culture to promote a supportive environment.